Alibaba CLoud VPS Review

In this article I am doing Alibaba CLoud VPS Review

Alibaba Cloud is offering a Free trial VPS with credit of $300 for 60 days.

I have explained all the terms and conditions of the Free trial VPS in the article.

I used the credit given by Alibaba Cloud to order a free trial of a VPS from the Singapore datacenter.

Alibaba CLoud VPS Review

The specifications of the trial VPS in Alibaba Cloud is as follows:

• Region Asia Pacific SE 1 (Singapore) (Asia Pacific SE 1 Zone B)
• Configuration I/O Optimized 1-core, 2 GB (General Type n1)
• Operating System CentOS 7.4 64bit
• Data Disk –
• Network Bandwidth 1 Mbps (VPC)
• Number 1 Month(s) X 1 Unit(s)
CPU: 1 Core(s)
Memory:  2 GB (I/O Optimized)
1 Mbps(peak value)

The cost of the VPS is Instance Cost $19.19 USD + Internet traffic fee $0.0810 USD/GB.

However, I did not have to pay for it because I am under the free trial period.

Review of the Alibaba Cloud free trial VPS

I have used the following code to test the performance of the VPS:

 bash <(wget --no-check-certificate -O - https://raw.github.com/mgutz/vpsbench/master/vpsbench)

The results are as follows:

 [root@xyz ~]#  bash <(wget --no-check-certificate -O - https://raw.github.com/mgutz/vpsbench/master/vpsbench)
--2018-01-09 16:19:38--  https://raw.github.com/mgutz/vpsbench/master/vpsbench
Resolving raw.github.com (raw.github.com)... 151.101.8.133
Connecting to raw.github.com (raw.github.com)|151.101.8.133|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 301 Moved Permanently
Location: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/mgutz/vpsbench/master/vpsbench [following]
--2018-01-09 16:19:38--  https://raw.githubusercontent.com/mgutz/vpsbench/master/vpsbench
Resolving raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)... 151.101.8.133
Connecting to raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)|151.101.8.133|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 4898 (4.8K) [text/plain]
Saving to: ‘STDOUT’

100%[======================================>] 4,898       --.-K/s   in 0s

2018-01-09 16:19:39 (49.8 MB/s) - written to stdout [4898/4898]

Benching I/O ... OK
Benching CPU. Bzipping 25MB file ... OK
Benching inbound network. Downloading 100MB file ... OK
Share at https://github.com/mgutz/vpsbench/wiki/VPS-Hosts


_01/09/2018 - VMPLAN - DATACENTER - OS - AUTHOR_
```
CPU model:  Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2682 v4 @ 2.50GHz
Number of cores: 1
CPU frequency:  2499.996 MHz
Total amount of RAM: 1839 MB
Total amount of swap:  MB
System uptime:   1 day, 19:23,
I/O speed:  56.4 MB/s
Bzip 25MB: 4.65s
Download 100MB file: 14.1MB/s
```


[root@izt4n73u19jo8mpk5lqpglz ~]#

My review of the free trial VPS of the Alibaba Cloud Singapore datacenter is that I am very happy with it.

The VPS performs very fast. It reacts very quickly. It appears to be an excellent VPS.

All the core parameters are very good as can be seen from the table below:

 CPU model:  Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2682 v4 @ 2.50GHz
Number of cores: 1
CPU frequency:  2499.996 MHz
Total amount of RAM: 1839 MB
Total amount of swap:  MB
System uptime:   1 day, 19:23,
I/O speed:  56.4 MB/s
Bzip 25MB: 4.65s
Download 100MB file: 14.1MB/s 

Review of pricing

However, the Alibaba Cloud VPS appears to be very expensive when compared to comparable VPS offred by Linode and Scaleway.

Scaleway Review

I have conducted a detailed review of Scaleway VPS.

The scaleway VPS is priced at rock bottom prices. A VPS with the following specifications costs only €2.99/Month.

2 x86 64bit Cores
2GB Memory
50GB SSD Disk
1 Flexible public IPv4
200Mbit/s Unmetered bandwidth

In contrast an Alibaba Cloud VPS with the following specifications costs $19.19 USD + Internet traffic fee $0.0810 USD/GB.

CPU: 1 Core(s)
Memory:  2 GB (I/O Optimized)
Disk: 40GB SSD

Linode vs. Scaleway

I have also conducted a detailed review of Linode VPS vs. Scaleway VPS.

Scaleway is offering 8GB RAM for the price charged by Linode for 2 GB RAM.

So, in the review of the VPS we can conclude that Scaleway is the cheapest amongst Linode and Alibaba Cloud.

The performance of the Scaleway VPS is also quite excellent.

One thought on “Alibaba CLoud VPS Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *